1 min read
Posted on 09.24.08
  • 1 min read
  • Posted on 09.24.08

From the St. Louis Sports Commission:

The St. Louis Sports Commission is excited to learn today that St. Louis is one of only six cities selected for the inaugural "NCAA Championship City" Pilot Program. The Championship City pilot program will feature multiple host opportunities of NCAA Division I, II and III men’s and women’s championships through 2012. The centerpiece of the program is a long-term agreement between the NCAA and each host city to bring a wide array of championships and ancillary events to the six geographical areas over the course of several years. It is seen by the Sports Commission as a very significant sports and economic development victory for the entire St. Louis region.

As part of today’s announcement, St. Louis has been awarded the 2010 and 2011 NCAA Division III Women’s Volleyball Championships, the 2011 Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Regional, and the 2012 Division I Wrestling Championships. St. Louis had previously been awarded the 2009 Division I Wrestling Championships, the 2009 Women’s Final Four, and the 2010 Division I Men’s Basketball Regional hosted by the Missouri Valley Conference. According to the NCAA, additional championships may be awarded to the six inaugural pilot program cities.

In addition to landing the events, the selection by the NCAA provides St. Louis the rights to use enhanced NCAA marks and to identify the community as an NCAA "Championship City."